Is it true about China?

As a hook, the author of “THE 2 CULTURES OF CHINA” introduces an idea that Westerners and Asians have different perspectives about themselves and the world. But of course, compared to the north part and south part of China, they do have different cultural traditions, too.

Based on plenty of research, evidence, and tests about geographical positions, agricultural traditions, and underlying thought patterns, the author states that the southern people in China “take a more holistic view of life, emphasizing interdependence and context”(Tom) while northern residents are much closer to Westerners, who are more individualistic, independent, and analytical. And, furthermore, the author believes that the keys to these divergent cultural traditions are their different agricultural traditions, which are then passed down from generation to generation.

Actually, at first I felt a little bit angry and confused about what the author tries to define and explain, and then I spent a night on thinking about the ideas about the article and my reaction to it.

We have to admit that there are lots inauthentic comments about China, and as a Chinese, I am alert to all kinds of them, so that I object all the judgments about my country, no matter positive or negative, for protecting it. But as a college student, I should accept diversity sounds and think critically, and I believe that existence is reasonable, which means there must be reasons for why people give conclusions from this or that angle.

Without a doubt, based on professional research and tests, this is a very persuasive article. And actually, I never think about the differences between northern Chinese and southern Chinese from the historical agricultural angle. I have never been a peasant, so I am not familiar with the process how to produce rice and wheat, but it makes sense. It is really interesting to call us rice people and wheat people and in daily life southerners prefer eating rice while northerners would like to choose noodles or buns as the staple food. I pretty admire the way how author analyses his topic, but I can’t agree with the characters he defines northerners and southerners.

I was born in Shandong province, and then my whole family moved to Beijing when I was 10 years old. Both of Shandong and Beijing located in the north part of China, so it took me not too much time to adapt to the new life. Because of the same geological position, these two places have the same climate and the same habit of eating. But I still have had lots of opportunities getting along with southerners. I still remembered that my best friend in primary school is from Anhui province where located in the northern part of China. She always spoke slowly and gently in her sweet voice with big smiles on her face. And our teachers often asked her to do complicated tasks because she is more careful than I, northern girl, was. So for me, I would like to regard people from north part of China are soft and gentle.

I am a Chinese, and I have to admit that to some extent, I am an inner when I have to think about something related to my country. But it is really interesting and illuminating to get new ideas and angels from an author who is the outer of China, more rational and logical.

 

One thought on “Is it true about China?”

  1. echo I love your post! Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this 🙂 I was unsure of how accurate the article was and appreciate hearing how it made you feel.

    Like

Leave a comment